Review: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

girl-online-by-zoe-sugg

Most people will have heard of this book. It’s been out a while now and it’s already got two sequels so I’m probably the last person on the planet to finally read it. However, for those of you who haven’t heard of it before this is the debut novel of Zoella, a popular YouTuber, and it’s about a young girl named Penny who runs a blog called Girl Online. She keeps it anonymous and just blogs about things going on in her life; friendship, boys and the panic attacks she’s started having recently. When things get worse she goes on a family vacation to New York and ends up meeting a boy named Noah. Penny finds herself falling in love and records every moment of it on her blog. But Noah has a secret, one that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover forever.

taeyeon-shocked-2-gif

I’d seen this book around for a while but never considered reading it. Then a couple of weeks ago I went in to buy ‘Not That Kind of Girl’ by Siobhan Vivian and it was in the buy one get one half price offer. So was Girl Online. I figured it would be a good book to review on this blog and went for it! I didn’t particularly think I’d enjoy it but I was actually surprised.

‘Girl Online’ is pretty much a typical teenage novel. It’s not really anything new or amazing. The plot is relatively predictable but I still found myself getting completely invested. At twenty years old I don’t think I was the intended target audience, it’s aimed more at younger teenagers, but I still found myself really enjoying it.

I think ‘Girl Online’ is one of those books that I know isn’t particularly good and should by all means probably annoy the Hell out of me, but it doesn’t. After finishing this one I actually really want to read the sequels, I want to find out what happens to Penny and whether she decides to keep her blog or not. I have a feeling this series is going to be a bit of a guilty pleasure.

jungkook-love-gif

As for the romance, it was a little bit annoying to read about because it was a bit unrealistic. I can understand Penny feeling attracted to him but the fact that they both fell in love with each other so quickly was a bit ridiculous. Also her friend Elliot started getting so petty that it was stupid. I understood why he was upset with everything going on but it seemed like soon he wasn’t giving Penny a break at all.

Ultimately, I did really enjoy the book and I’ll be buying the sequels but as I said, this book is definitely a guilty pleasure. A kind of, I know it’s not that great but I loved it anyway.

Leave a Reply

