Review: … And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne

and-a-happy-new-year

When I found out there was another book in the spinster club series I was absolutely over the moon as it’s probably my favourite series out there. I’d wanted to read it for a while so put it on my Christmas list – but no one bought it for me! I’ve been pretty broke recently but after hearing so many brilliant reviews of it I spent the last of my money on it. I’m glad I did. It only took me a day to finish it.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the Spinster Club series, it follows the friendship of Evie, Amber and Lottie who form their own group ‘the Spinster Club’ where they meet up to discuss feminism. Each girl has their own book told from their point of view until this one, which is told a chapter at a time but each of the girls. It’s New Years Eve and Evie, Amber and Lottie are having a party to remember. For the first time since they all left college the three girls are back together and it’s time to have fun – not tears or arguments.

Solar excited gif.gif

When the book arrived it was smaller than I expected it to be. I thought it was another novel but it’s actually a novella to tie up any loose ends and so we have one more opportunity to check in with the Spinsters and see how they’re doing. Why can’t all series have one last book like this? It was nice to see what the girls were up to now they’d all left college even if it wasn’t necessarily what you’d hoped would happen.

I love how things aren’t perfect for any of them, how they all went their separate ways and things aren’t exactly the same when they got back. Or how none of them are particularly having an easy time but they’re too afraid to tell each other that not things aren’t as perfect as they’d hoped they’d be.

My favourite thing though was that they all seemed to end up doing the thing that was right for them even if it meant they wouldn’t be able to meet up as often as they’d like to. It was a brilliant conclusion to the series and I’m so glad Bourne decided to write one more book.

If you’ve already read the Spinster series then I one hundred percent recommend this because it’s amazing and you’ll honestly love it. And if you haven’t read the Spinster series then you really need to start because it’s one of the best series out there and you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

