The Bye Bye Man: Review by Holly Bareham

the-bye-bye-man

This film was advertised absolutely ages ago, I remember watching the trailer at the cinema towards the start of last year. I can remember because me and my friend made jokes about how non-threatening something named ‘The Bye Bye Man’ was and how ridiculous the concept seemed. Then another one of my friends popped up saying the trailer looked alright and we should all watch it. In the end none of us could agree on a date so I went and watched it by myself. Oh boy.

For those who haven’t seen this advertised the film is basically about three friends that move into a house who soon learn about something called ‘The Bye Bye Man’. However the moment they think about it or say it they put themselves in more danger. The Bye Bye Man can make them hallucinate and manipulates their sense of reality to kill them off.

yuri-scared

I hadn’t heard anything about this film but I had suspicions that it was going to be shit. I’m sorry but anything with a title like ‘The Bye Bye Man’ is bound to be awful. However I like to keep an open mind when going into films so I put that aside and tried to get into it. And oh boy did I try.

I think I nearly fell asleep. I’d not had much sleep the night before and this film was lulling me to sleep. I don’t like films that only rely on jump scares and it felt like this film was trying to rely on them, the only problem was that they weren’t scary enough. There was no atmosphere and even the jump scares weren’t working. So all we were left with was the plot and that was pretty shocking.

It was bad. I don’t really know what else to say about it. It was just a bunch of nonsense. Where did ‘The Bye Bye Man’ even come from and why is he so angry? What if someone randomly thought ‘a good character name would be The Bye Bye Man’ would they then die as well? Also, pretty big spoiler alert, but Elliot’s brother and niece were relatively calm and chill considering he’d just killed himself.

I don’t know if I was just being an idiot or what but nothing seemed to make sense. It was one of the most pointless films I’ve ever seen in my life and we didn’t get enough time to get to know the characters so it was hard to particularly care about any of them.

Overall I don’t particularly recommend this film to anyone because it was just plain awful. Don’t waste your money.

Leave a Reply

