Review: The Silver Eyes by Scott Cawthon and Kira Breed-Wrisley

the-silver-eyes

So I was really late to get into Five Night’s at Freddy’s… It was only recently after the release of Sister Location that I started to get interested in the storyline, even though I can’t actually play the games myself (if you want to see an attempt then click here to see me and my friend playing it [x]). So I was googling theories and a few of them were referencing this book so I decided to read it to get a bit of context.

The basic story is that ten years after the horrific murders at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza, Charlie, whose father owned the restaurant and her childhood friends reunite on the anniversary and find themselves at the old pizza place which has been locked up and abandoned for years. After they discover a way inside, they realise that things are not as they used to be. The four adult-sized animatronic mascots that once entertained them have changed. They now have a dark secret… And a murderous agenda.

j-hope-scared-gif

I was really looking forward to reading this and it started off well. There’s enough going on to keep you intrigued and the characters aren’t that dislikeable. Then by the time I was halfway through the book it started to go downhill. I can’t say I wasn’t interested anymore but I wasn’t particularly getting any enjoyment from it. I finished the whole thing quite quickly because I wanted to find out what was going on but I feel like I haven’t particularly learnt a lot from it to be honest.

For me, I think the problem was that there wasn’t enough focus on the animatronics. They don’t even start moving around until you’re about three quarters of your way into the story. The emphasis is on Charlie and her friends and I suppose there’s no problem with that but it was boring unless they were at Charlie’s house, Freddy Fazbear’s or the original restaurant. From the description I assumed they went to Fazbear’s and then suddenly they were locked in there fighting to survive against the animatronics. That’s what we got for about a chapter.

Also, I don’t understand when this book is set in terms of the game? So surely the game must take place before this, when Charlie’s Dad is still alive right? So why are the suits possessed? To be honest I’ve never seen the first game completed the whole way through so maybe I need to see that to understand but I couldn’t figure out when it was supposed to be set, there was never any reference to them hiring a night guard to keep an eye on the place. Even the control room that the characters hid out in didn’t sound anything like the ones from the game even though you could recognise every other room?

To be honest though I think it was better than you would expect a Five Nights at Freddy’s story to be but it still wasn’t brilliant. It’s not particularly scary and it doesn’t really add much (as far as I’m aware but maybe I’m just an idiot) but I did find it interesting so I guess I would recommend it if you’re a fan of the games. If you didn’t like the games then I definitely wouldn’t bother with the book.

Leave a Reply

