Review: The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

the-accident-season

I have about a million reviews to write but I haven’t been writing any lately, whoops! This one is actually long overdue because I received it for my birthday and finished it ages ago but I haven’t got round to writing it until now. So here we go!

‘The Accident Season’ is about seventeen-year-old Cara, who can remember the accident season happening every year for as long as she can remember. A month of mysterious injuries and tragedies, which casts a constant shadow over Cara and her family. This year, Cara is starting to ask questions and all her family’s secrets will rise to the surface.

sunny-shocked-gif

I have never been so bloody confused when reading a book before. First of all I couldn’t tell if the Accident Season was a thing that happened to absolutely everyone or whether it just affected Cara and her family. It took me a few chapters to figure out it was just Cara and her family. From then on it only went downhill…

So this review is possibly going to contain spoilers. I will try to write it in the least-spoiler way possible but I might let one slip, sorry!

First of all, the whole Elsie storyline is weird. With everyone typing out their secrets to this girl and then every single one of them forgetting she exists? Well, they didn’t forget but no one had any idea who she was and didn’t notice when she disappeared. I find that unlikely considering so many people must’ve approached her in the day, even if they didn’t talk to her. I suppose it makes a bit of sense to fill in with her complete storyline but I don’t know…

Speaking of which, I found the truth about Elsie to just be unsatisfying as well as confusing. I don’t know if I’m an idiot or what but it just didn’t make a lot of sense. I’m going to reveal a spoiler in this paragraph so skip to the next one if you’re not interested. I don’t understand why the accident season occurs when Elsie’s not around to look after them but their step-dad murdered someone during the accident season and how would they have so many accidents crammed into one month anyway just because some ghost wasn’t around to watch over them? Am I just stupid or does it not make sense?

j-nope-gif

Also, another spoiler alert, did Cara really have to get with her step-brother? Was that really a thing that needed to happen? I know they’re not related by blood or anything but there’s still something creepy and weird about that. They’re still technically brother and sister and it’s weird, it just wasn’t necessary.

I feel like there was just too much going on and there wasn’t a big enough reveal for the Accident Season itself. We had the truth about Elsie and about Cara’s sister Alice but I still don’t fully understand why the Accident Season happened once a year? Also I don’t understand why Alice even had that subplot, it didn’t add much to the story and was a bit pointless other than to prove the step-dad was a dick… Which we kind of already knew.

I genuinely don’t know if I’m just stupid but this whole book just left me a confused wreck so I wouldn’t really recommend it.

Leave a Reply

