Review: Twenty Questions for Gloria by Martyn Bedford

Twenty Questions for Gloria by Martyn Bedford

In my last review I mentioned that I went to a panel called ‘Thrills and Chills’ at Waterstones where I met four authors. Well, Martyn Bedford was one of them and he was there to promote his book ‘Twenty Questions for Gloria’ which I bought at the event and got signed. After finishing ‘Lying about Last Summer’ I started on this one and now here I am, writing a review about it.

BTS freak out gif

So the story is about a girl named Gloria who’s tired of her ordinary life when suddenly a new boy arrives at her school. Uman is funny, confident, smart and seems intent on breaking all the rules. Gloria quickly falls under his spell. But Uman is not all he seems to be and by the time she learns the truth about him she is a long way from home.

Seohyun shocked gif

Let’s address the fact that I hate romance first, that seems like a decent place to start. It seems pretty obvious from the description what’s going to happen but as far as I remember… To be honest I don’t remember them getting together or anything particularly romantic happening, however I did read it a while ago now so it’s possible I forgot. Either way, it can’t have been too annoying or unrealistic because otherwise I’d have remembered and you’d have to read me complaining about it. So yeah, nothing too bad on the romance front.

As I said in my last review I do like books that have a little bit of a mystery to them and I was intrigued by what Uman was hiding… But I thought it fell a little flat. By that, I mean that while it was still interesting and I didn’t see Uman’s ‘secret’ coming, it wasn’t quite as big of a deal as the blurb would let you believe. There was a reason people were worried that Gloria was with Uman but it was pretty much skimmed over as if it wasn’t that big of a deal. I thought it was all interesting and written well but the description made me think it was going to be a lot bigger.

When I picked this book up I found it difficult to put it back down because it was so interesting and engaging so I finished it really quickly. I love that it was written like a police interview it made it more unique. Gloria and Uman were pretty interesting to read about and I feel like Martyn wrote it realistically – they weren’t happy the entire time they were on the run, they got angry, sad, annoyed. It was so nice that they weren’t portrayed as perfect.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. Just don’t be deceived by the blurb!

Leave a Reply

