The Darkness: Review by Holly Bareham

The Darkness.jpg

Okay, I am so late for a ton of reviews I need to write but I seem to have writers block at the moment… Hopefully since I just watched this film it’ll stay fresh in my mind and I can finish this review!

So, for those of you who don’t know, ‘The Darkness’ is about a family who return from a vacation at the Grand Canyon who suddenly find themselves haunted by an ancient supernatural entity they unknowingly awakened and they soon find themselves in a battle for survival.

Spooky Scary Skeletons gif

Where do I even start with this film? Me and my friend love horror movies and this film only showed for like three days here and we caught it on its last day. Before we went in my friend said “apparently it’s really shit.” With horror movies, you either hear “apparently it’s really shit” or “apparently it’s really scary.” You hear one or the other. More often than not, you hear the first one. Now I am not one to judge a film off other people’s opinions so I always try to go in with an open mind. But oh lord, she was right.

The premise is good and it seemed promising. The first ten minutes or so were pretty decent and I thought we were setting up for a decent film. Then suddenly out of nowhere, it went downhill.

First of all, let’s talk about the thing that annoyed me the most – the characters. They made no sense at all. I don’t even know how to explain it, their personalities just seemed to completely change every few seconds and suddenly they were backtracking and saying things that didn’t make sense to their characters?

This paragraph contains spoilers because I want to give examples: in the opening scene Stephanie seems to be really understanding towards her autistic brother Mikey but the moment they get home from the grand canyon all she does is scream at him, tell her parents he’s ‘weird and creepy’ and generally seems to hate him. Then we have Peter, their Father, who complains that Mikey’s behaviour is getting out of control but Mikey’s Mom, Bronny, sticks up for him. Then about half-an-hour later Bronny tells him that “you didn’t even notice his behaviour deteriorate.” Peter doesn’t even challenge that accusation. Stephanie just generally acted like a bit of a psychopath throughout half the film then suddenly changed into a good mood at the blink of an eye. Also, how many problems did they try and fit into one family? An affair, alcoholism, anorexia, autism… All the A’s in this family.

Okay, spoiler’s end now so you’re safe to keep reading.

I think because of the lack of character continuity it found it hard to find it scary. Yes I did jump a couple of times but the film completely lost the scary atmosphere it created at the beginning. It got to a point where the ‘scary’ parts were just boring. The whole thing was just… Awful.

I’ve looked on iMDB for a fun fact and there is only one piece of trivia and even that isn’t very interesting: This film reunites Kevin Bacon and Jennifer Morrison for the first time since Stir of Echoes in 1999. There you go.

Overall, I don’t recommend this film at all. There is nothing about that saves it and it’s just really, really bad.

Leave a Reply

