Review: Follow Me Back by Nicci Cloke

Follow Me Back by Nicci Cloke

I’m sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while. I have a few reviews to come out but I’ve been suffering from dreadful writer’s block recently. This is the third time I’ve started writing this review and I’m hoping this is the time I’ll finish it.

So, ‘Follow Me Back’ is Nicci Cloke’s most recent novel and it’s about high school boy Aiden Kendrick who hears about his old friend Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance when the police arrive at his front door to question him. According to the police Lizzie met up with someone online and never returned home. Aiden doesn’t know it but Lizzie’s disappearance is about to change his life forever.

Sam and Dean shocked gif.gif

I bought this book a few weeks ago, simply because I wanted to get lunch up town but I’d forgotten to bring a book with me when I’d left the house and I wanted something to read. I’m always in Waterstones and WHSmith but can’t always find a new book that looks interesting. My eye caught ‘Follow Me Back’ and after reading the first page I decided to give it a try.

I started reading on a Friday and had finished the book by Sunday morning. I love a good mystery element and Nicci kept me intrigued enough to want to keep reading whenever I had time… Which turned out to be a lot of the time. You spend the whole book trying to figure out what happened to Lizzie and of course you’re always suspecting different people. I must’ve found the book interesting because I struggled to put it down.

One thing I wasn’t a fan of, but wouldn’t go as far to say I disliked, was the point of view switches. It’s mostly told from Aiden’s point of view then suddenly switches seemingly randomly? No one else’s point of view is particularly long, with Aiden’s view dominating most of the book, so I don’t understand why the book couldn’t have just been told from Aiden’s point of view throughout. Spoiler Alert: Halfway through the book when we’re still unsure of what happened the book dedicates a page to Lizzie’s point of view which seemed a bit pointless other than to tell the audience ‘Hey look, she’s not dead!’

When I spotted the book I expected it to be told through social media and although it did have messaging it wasn’t like I’d been expecting which is fine, but still seems strange considering the title and the front cover. I mean, I understand because the internet is a big theme in the book but it still seems odd.

Also, I didn’t like any of the characters. This could’ve been intentional but they were all pretty dislikeable and fundamentally pretty similar. All the boys seemed to have one personality and all the girl were the same.

To be honest, I’m a bit unsure of what to think about this book. Although I thoroughly enjoyed actually reading it, I don’t feel like it’s mad any lasting impression on me. It wasn’t brilliant but it wasn’t awful either. It just was. Not the type of book I’m likely to read again but I’m not likely to throw my copy away either.

Overall, I guess I would recommend this book to you guys because it did keep me interested from start to finish and it’s nice as a light read. However it’s not particularly groundbreaking or anything.

Leave a Reply

