Review: How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne

How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne

If you read my review of ‘Am I Normal Yet’ then I said something along the lines of how I enjoyed Holly Bourne’s work but never really considered myself a fan or kept up with what she was writing. I think that’s recently changed as I definitely consider myself a fan and I’m looking forward to seeing what she’s written next. I guess that already sets up the review so you know what’s coming: It’s a positive review!

So this book is told from the point of view of Amber, a character we met in ‘Am I Normal Yet’ who I was a fan of. In ‘How Hard Can Love Be’, Amber gets on a plane and is off to America for a month to help out at a summer camp with her Mum and her infuriating new step-dad. Although she’s going to be working she’s hoping to spend some quality time with her Mum who she hasn’t seen in ages but unfortunately, things don’t quite go to plan…

Dan and Phil excited gif

Amber is honestly one of the funniest characters I’ve read about. Right from the start when she was getting on the plane while she was drunk right through to the end. I loved reading from her point of view of everything. I loved how angry she got at her Mum and her ‘step-dad’, how sarcastic she was (I can totally relate) and how honest she was. You know when people ask which book character you wish were real? Although I read a lot I never particularly had an answer. But now I know, it’s Amber!

Although I wished I could’ve read about her hanging out with her friends Evie and Lottie I also loved reading about her spending the summer at this American camp – I wanted to be there hanging out with Winnie, bitching about the cheerleaders, gossiping about Kyle, skyping Evie and Lottie… You can’t help but fall in love with Bourne’s characters, especially so in ‘How Hard Can Love Be’.

Now if you’re a regular reader then you know my hatred of romance and you can tell from the title that there will be some romance in this book, but it’s not just about that. It’s about Amber’s relationship with her Mom and her own feeling of self-worth. That’s possibly what I love most about Bourne’s books. There’s the romance there but it’s not all about that, their main characters have other things on their mind and they don’t just concentrate on the romance side of things. It’s a good divide for those who are romance fans and those who aren’t. The only thing I had a problem with was that the characters insisted Snape was a hero – NO!

Overall, I would 100% recommend this book because it’s so funny but also gives you a few important lessons on philosophy and feminism. Order a copy now, don’t miss out!

Leave a Reply

