Review: The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

I know, this still isn’t the review of Louise’s book but I’m getting there! I decided to start reading ‘The Boy at the Top of the Mountain’ at the same time and just like when I read ‘Room’, I got carried away and couldn’t put it down. So here is my review:

John Boyne is the author of ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ and if you haven’t read it then you’ve probably seen the film. I remember reading it at school and then watched the film at home with my Mom and oh my god, it makes me cry every single time. So when I saw ‘The Boy at the Top of the Mountain’ I thought I’d give it a shot since ‘The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas’ had been so good.

Dean Crying gif

His latest novel follows French boy Pierrot who must leave his home in Paris to go and live in Germany with his Aunt Beatrix who is a servant in a wealthy household. But this is 1935 and the Second World War is fast approaching and this is no ordinary household: this is the Berghof, the home of Adolf Hitler. Pierrot is taken under Hitler’s wing and soon, he must decide where his loyalties lie.

The first thing I wanna say about the book is that yes it was emotional but it wasn’t anywhere near as sad as The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and I’m not saying that’s necessarily a bad thing. I think it would’ve been tough to beat The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and John Boyne was definitely going down a different route. It was a bit sad to read about Pierrot turning from this sweet kid into the horrible Pieter at the end, but it didn’t have the punch that The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas had. But again, we shouldn’t really compare the two.

It’s interesting to read about the holocaust from the German perspective especially from the point of view of a young boy who lived in France whose best friend was Jewish. Pretty much everything I know about World War Two is told from the point of view of England so I find it interesting to read from a different perspective.

I guess overall, this book isn’t anything particularly special to me but I am glad that I read it. Would I recommend it? If you liked The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas then I guess I would recommend it but otherwise, it wouldn’t be the worst thing ever if you gave it a miss.

Leave a Reply

