Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

Room by Emma Donoghue

I know I said I was going to read Louise’s (SprinkelofGlitter) book but I started reading Room by Emma Donoghue at the same time and honestly couldn’t put it down so I ended up finishing it a lot quicker. So I decided to just write the review now.

Sadly I can’t reference the book itself because I gave it to my Mom to read the moment I’d finished it so I’m going to have to go from memory and from the internet so here goes nothing . I assume most of you have seen the trailer for the film adaptation of the book but if you haven’t then I’ll give you a quick synopsis: Jack is five years old. He lives with his Ma in ‘Room’, a small room where the door is permanently locked. Room is all that Jack has ever known until one day Ma comes up with an escape plan. Soon Jack’s world is about to get a whole lot bigger.

Daniel Raddcliffe Wow gif

I saw the film before I read the book and as I’d enjoyed the film I kind of already knew that I was going to like the book too. But books can be weird if they’re told a certain way – do you know what I mean? Like you might really enjoy the film adaptation so you sit down to read the book but you can’t get into the way the author’s written it. Luckily that wasn’t the case here. The moment I opened it I couldn’t put it down. Like the film, the story was told from the point of view of Jack and that’s what really makes it unique and what made me love it so much.

The point of the book isn’t about the room itself or the escape; it’s more about Jack discovering everything outside of Room that he didn’t know existed. Emma has Jack reacting to things that I wouldn’t have even considered – his trouble with stairs, his fear of being separated from Ma, getting sunburnt even though it’s not that hot out and dealing with having so much space. It’s written so beautifully and you can really emphasise with Jack even though he can tend to be a little frustrating/annoying. But that’s kind of the point and besides, what five year old isn’t a bit irritating from time to time?

I read this book because I saw the film as I imagine a lot of you guys have seen or at least seen the trailer for as well. Personally, I prefer the film because I think it’s happier than the book but I suppose the book is the more brutal, realistic version. Not that there’s much difference. Then again there were bits I preferred in the book to the movie.

Either way, I’d recommend this book to just about anyone because it’s honestly really good. So yes, go out and buy a copy. It’s in ASDA at the moment because the film’s out and I got a copy off Amazon for just a penny. What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

