Review: All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Yes, I know, I’m reviewing another YouTuber’s book… I’m going to read Louise’s and then that should be it for a while as far as I know. Unless you guys have any requests?

So today I’m reviewing Carrie’s (ItsWayPastMyBedtime) ‘All I Know Now’ which I believe is her first book and is reflecting on her own teenage years and giving advice on how to survive them.

Lets Get Started Gif

I don’t particularly watch Carrie all that much or really follow what she’s up to but I’ve always kind of liked her. Obviously I’ve seen a couple of her videos but mainly the ones where she collabs with someone else. I do love her hair though? Whatever, although I didn’t really follow her work I did consider myself kind of a fan so I bought a copy of the book and got started.

Before I bought this book I kind of just thought it would be Carrie’s autobiography, I was stupid and didn’t realise that it was going to mostly be advice on what to do with lots of different topics including boyfriends, friendship, parents etc. Obviously there were tales of Carrie growing up too and those were the parts I found most interesting.

At nineteen years old I’m not entirely sure I was Carrie’s target audience as most of her advice was centred on school stuff so I imagine she has a rather younger audience but that’s not to say that some of the advice didn’t apply to me. I’m kind of going through what I call ‘an internal existential crisis’ at the moment where I spend all my time worrying about the future but not actually doing anything about it, and Carrie had plenty of advice for that as well! So if you considered yourself a fan of Carrie and you’re worried you’re too old for this book, you’re not. There are also some little stories about Carrie’s past that I think you’d love too.

Dan Thumbs Up gif

For the advice itself I completely agree with everything Carrie says, especially now that I too have the secret power of hindsight to look back at my own teenage years and I kind of wish I’d had this book to help me. It’s the kind of book I’d hold onto and when if (doubtfully) I had my own daughter one day I would pass down to her and tell her to take the advice – like seriously. Carrie’s really honest when using examples from her own life and doesn’t try and sugar coat her own life. You get the impression that Carrie really doesn’t want you to feel alone and I think that’s why she wrote this book.

There are tons of books out there with advice and tips on how to get through your teenage years that, let’s face it, most of us ignored at the time because what did they know? However, considering Carrie’s already got a following of teenagers asking her for advice it makes sense that she should write a book full of it. Hopefully her audience will take something from this book and learn to move on from the mistakes they make because what’s growing up without making a few mistakes?

Overall, I’d recommend this book to any young teenager or anyone that considers themselves a fan of Carrie. It’s just generally full of good advice! So, yeah, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

