Review: The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester (aka danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil)

The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan and Phil.jpg

Sorry this review is so late, I originally started working on it back in November (when I was still at university, that’s scary!) and I never really finished it but I figured since I’ve posted a review of Tyler’s book I should probably post a review of Dan and Phil’s as well.

So it’s no secret that I’m a Dan and Phil fan, those of you who read my review of their show knows that (x). I wrote about my first impressions of Tyler in his review so I guess it’s only fair that I post my first opinions of Dan and Phil too… Please don’t kill me anyone! I posted on a forum that I was a big fan of another YouTuber called charlieissocoollike and someone commented to tell me they liked him too and that I should check out this other YouTuber. They didn’t say his name, just posted a link to one of his videos. So I clicked and had a look. It was AmazingPhil.

I can’t remember what video it was, I do remember Phil sitting on the floor of a living room and talking about the apocalypse or something and I thought ‘Wow this guy is really weird…’ and stopped watching. I said don’t kill me! I can’t even remember what happened but I started watching him again a couple of months later and suddenly I was watching all his videos. Then I watched ‘the wardrobe’ which was the first collab I saw him do with Dan. My first opinions of Dan were ‘Wow this guy is really annoying’. Again, I don’t know what happened but I remember one Sunday I sat in my room all day and just binge watched all of Dan’s video. I was officially a fan of both of them.

Dan and Phil dance gif

Back to the book! So last year Dan and Phil released a teaser trailer for their book and then announced that they were going on tour to promote their book. I was lucky enough to get tickets to this tour (twice actually, whoops) and really enjoyed it. I also got a copy of their book on the day it came out and started reading it straightaway.

Dan and Phil’s book is very different to Tyler’s. Tyler’s is long stories with maybe the occasional image whereas Dan and Phil’s is centred more on photos and expanding on stories that they’ve already told in many of their videos. It was interesting to see references to their videos and to hear things that maybe made us see their videos in a different light. My favourite chapters were about their school and university experiences. I can definitely relate to Dan’s uni experience.

Dan Existential Crisis gif

This book also kind of had a magazine vibe because it also contained a quiz (find out which of Dan and Phil’s dining chairs you’re most like – I got purple by the way) and some tips on how to create your own videos. There were also funny anecdotes of Dan and Phil’s childhood including Phil’s childhood diary and Dan’s dream journal. Dan’s dream journal probably should’ve come with a little translation at the bottom because most of the phandom has a hard time reading his handwriting.

Although it is different to Tyler’s book and perhaps I would’ve liked some more personal stories that we hadn’t heard before I do respect that Dan and Phil are a lot more private and I completely understand why. It was a different style and the idea of the book was to capture the world on the internet that Dan and Phil have created, it was more about their YouTube lives and their community and I think they did a brilliant job of creating a real-life version of their YouTube personalities.

I got this book when I was at university and I was at a really low, lonely time in my life and I’m so glad I had this with me. I was absolutely gutted when I eventually finished it because I was loving and enjoying it so much. This is a book I absolutely recommend although I think obviously you’d prefer it if you at least knew Dan and Phil beforehand.

Here’s another little fun fact, more about me than Dan and Phil so I’m sorry: When I went to their tour there were quite a few people younger than me and I didn’t think anything of it until I was waiting for my friend to come out the toilets. Then two girls walked past me saying “Oh My God, school tomorrow.” “Eugh, don’t remind me, I hate that place.” And my first thoughts were ‘Oh Hun, appreciate it now, I would kill someone to go back to school.’ That was the first time in my life that I ever felt old. Ahahaha. Fun.

So yes, go and watch AmazingPhil and Danisnotonfire or DanandPhilGAMES and then go buy a copy of their book to start reading! You won’t regret it!

6 thoughts on “Review: The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester (aka danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil)

Leave a Reply

