Review: Am I Normal Yet by Holly Bourne

Am I Normal Yet by Holly Bourne

So I reviewed ‘The Manifesto on How to be Interesting’ and it was a pretty positive review. I did enjoy that book but I put the book away on my shelf and didn’t particularly think too much about Holly Bourne’s writing afterwards. I had enjoyed the book, I don’t know what happened, I just didn’t keep up with her news the way I do with other authors I enjoyed. Then suddenly every time I went on Twitter I saw someone praising her new book ‘Am I Normal Yet’, including a few authors that I liked. I remembered how I’d enjoyed ‘The Manifesto on How to be Interesting’ and I think that even if I hadn’t originally read it I would’ve still picked this book up because of the massive hype surrounding it. So I bought a copy the day before I went to Spain and took it with me. I was there a week and I’d finished it by day four.

Now bear in mind that I was mostly reading it in snippets too, normally a chapter when my Mom popped back up to the room in the lift and then I’d get in an hour in the evenings but I absolutely sailed through this book. And that is because once I’d picked up this book I just couldn’t put it down.

So for those of you who haven’t read it yet or haven’t seen it on Twitter, ‘Am I Normal Yet’ is about a sixteen year old girl named Evie who just wants to be normal – she’s almost off her meds to control her OCD and now she’s at a new college where no one knows her as the-girl-who-went-nuts and now she’s got a list of what’s normal at sixteen with only thing left to tick off: a boyfriend.

Dean Approves

Let’s get into the romance straightaway because if I have any regular readers then they know that I’m sick to death of reading about girls with interesting storylines who only want to talk about their FUCKING boyfriends. Anyway, I don’t want to reveal too much but for anyone who shares a romance hatred like me, trust me when I say that this book is for you. It may not seem like it at first but hang on. You will not be disappointed.

A lot of what made people talk about this on Twitter was that there was finally a young adult book written about people with OCD and it’s a book that we’ve needed for a long time. Society’s attitude to mental illness is improving but is still a long way from perfection. We need books like this for young people to read. People need to be aware of mental illness and we need to realise that our attitude towards it needs to change.

Back to the story itself – Evie is such an interesting character and I loved reading from her point of view. You will get frustrated with her – I’m sure that was Bourne’s intention. But you’ll also route for her and it will hit you hard whenever she’s suffering. I also loved her best friends Amber and Lottie, especially Amber. I couldn’t bring myself to like Jane, not even in the end, but I think that’s more due to personal experience. Tell me what you thought of her!

This is definitely a book that needs to be read, not just because of its important message but because it is genuinely such an interesting and amazing read. I would recommend this book over ‘The Manifesto on How to be Interesting’ (but in all seriousness you should read that too) so please, BUY IT AND READ IT!

Leave a Reply

