Review: Another Day by David Levithan

Another Day by David Levithan

I’ve heard good things about David Levithan’s books but never read one myself until a couple of weeks ago. The reason I decided to give this book a try was because I bought a ticket to an event at Waterstones, mainly because I wanted to meet Louise O’Neill but David Levithan and Lisa Williamson would be there too so I decided to give their books a read too. I’m very happy to have finally read one of his books.

I’ve looked on Amazon and apparently this book was published in 2015 which is apparently two years after the events of the original book (told from the point of view from a different character) took place and I may have made the mistake of reading ‘Another Day’ first. I have ordered ‘Every Day’ (the original) and its here and I’m going to read it next!

So, ‘Another Day’ is told from the point of view of Rhiannon who’s dating a distant, moody guy named Justin and she’s constantly bending over backwards to make sure she doesn’t upset him or come across as too needy and she must especially never expect much from him. Then one day, out of the blue, the two of them share a perfect day together. But then Justin doesn’t seem to have much memory of the day – and that’s when a stranger tells Rhiannon tells her that the Justin she spent time with wasn’t even Justin at all.

For those who read ‘Every Day’ first then they obviously know why Justin wasn’t Justin but when I started reading I didn’t have any idea and I was intrigued to find out. Plot twists in books can sometimes seriously piss me off (‘Ultraviolet’ by R J Anderson pissed me off a bit) but this one intrigued me. I enjoyed it and I wanted to keep reading, I wanted to know how Rhiannon’s story would end.

I liked Rhiannon but she did annoy me a bit sometimes, especially when she was with Justin. She let him get away with so much shit. I can kind of see her point though, because Justin could sometimes be quite sweet (The Girl Scouts cookies scene). But overall, I didn’t like Justin at all and I didn’t sympathise with him in the slightest. That might be from personal experience though.

Chris Pine gif

Now, I hate romance stories and I guess ‘Another Day’ comes under the romance category but I honestly got sucked into the story and found that the romance didn’t even bother me that much. The way it’s written is easy to read and follow, and the way David Levithan writes it makes you want to find out what’s going to happen next constantly.

I would absolutely recommend this book and suggest that everyone go out and buy a copy right now! I mean it!

Misha Collins yes gif

Leave a Reply

