Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

I bought this book because my friend had been a fan of the ‘Hush, Hush’ series written by Becca Fitzpatrick and when she found out Becca was doing a book signing and talk in Birmingham to promote ‘Black Ice’ she asked me to go along with her. So we both bought a copy of her new book and started reading.

20150608_205706

Her writing is so beautiful. Anyway, we only had two weeks to read the book before the signing. I know some people reading this would’ve been able to manage that but unfortunately we didn’t but luckily we didn’t get many spoilers at the talk because most questions were about ‘Hush, Hush’. Also, Becca Fitzpatrick was so lovely and her talk was really interesting and funny – I had never read the ‘Hush, Hush’ series but it was still extremely interesting.

So as I said, before the talk I was trying to read this book as quickly as I could and I was really interested… Then after the talk I suddenly lost interest and put it on my book shelf for a few months (I think the talk was in November) and I picked it up again yesterday because I was looking after my brother all night and I wanted something to read. I’m so glad that I took it because suddenly I was sucked straight back into it and read it until I was completely finished.

The basic story follows Britt who’s going on a trekking trip with her best friend Korbie but a freak storm breaks out and the girls are left stranded. Eventually the two girls find a cabin and two men who will keep them safe during the safe. Or so they think. Britt soon realises they need to get away from them and off the mountain. She’s forced to guide the boys down the mountain while desperately trying to find a way to save her own life and escape them.

Bring It On gif

I was a bit put off by the tagline ‘falling in love should never be this dangerous’ because yes as I keep stating, I don’t like romance… And I must admit Britt annoyed me a bit when it came to her relationship with most of the male characters in this book but whatever, there are way worse romances to read about. Britt’s first boyfriend Calvin (who’s also Korbie’s brother) was also one of the most annoying people to read about on the entire planet. On top of that, Korbie was also relatively irritating which I’m pretty sure Britt herself mentioned. So at least me and Britt were on the same wavelength.

The actual story itself is really good and has a lot of mysterious elements that you don’t particularly think about at first but by the end of the book they’re so obvious that you wonder why you never thought of them before. It’s also pretty scary – it can often be difficult for a book to make you feel scared but I think Becca wrote it so brilliantly. You could truly emphasise with what Britt was going through even if you obviously haven’t experienced anything like that before.

Overall, even though Britt’s relationship with the guys annoys me a little bit I would still highly recommend this book to pretty much everyone. I haven’t read ‘Hush, Hush’ so obviously I can’t compare the two but from the description I think they are two completely different styles but regardless, I think if you enjoyed ‘Hush, Hush’ then you will love ‘Black Ice’ as well. I’m looking forward to future books from Becca Fitzpatrick and hopefully she’ll return to the UK soon!

Leave a Reply

