Review: Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zeven

Elsewhere Gabrielle Zeven

Okay, I’m going to be honest. The only reason I decided to read this book was because I saw Isabelle Fuhrman talking about it in an interview and how she’d loved it. Anyone who knows me knows that I love Isabelle Fuhrman. Like love her. So I decided to give this book a read.

The main character, Liz, is killed in a hit-and-run accident and when she wakes up she finds herself on a boat with no idea where she’s headed. Eventually she makes it to Elsewhere where everyone ages backwards until they are ready to go back to Earth.

Sam Excited gif

Okay let’s start with Liz. I really liked her. Yes, there some things she did that really got on my nerves but it’s not a decent character unless they annoy you every so often, right? She was absolutely lovely and I could really imagine what she was like from the way Gabrielle Zevin wrote. Upon arriving at Elsewhere she goes to live with her deceased Grandmother Betty whom she had never met. Betty was just the way she should’ve been – caring, sweet and incredibly irritating from time to time.

To be perfectly honest even though I enjoyed the story I was kind of expecting more. I thought this story was going to be absolutely beautiful and thought-provoking but it didn’t quite live up to the hype. This story is entertaining and I wasn’t bored reading it, but it didn’t particularly stand out from any other book I’ve read. As with most books I’ve read (and complained about) it eventually ended up with some amount of romance. Unlike most books I’ve read however, this romance wasn’t irritating and wasn’t unrealistically instant. Owen wasn’t my favourite character but I didn’t find myself hating him either. Well, not all the time.

The story itself was at best what I’d call ‘sweet’. It didn’t make me sad, happy or really feel anything. Then again, I did get through this book in under a week which for me is something of a record. I was sucked into the story, mainly to find out what choices Liz would make and how it would end. After all this, you’re not really left with a lot though.

Misha Frowny Face gif

I would recommend this book to just about anyone I suppose but I want you to know that it isn’t absolutely amazing. I’m not saying it’s not a good book, because it is. I would re-read it and plan to in the future. This book isn’t exactly mind blowing though. This is one of those books that you really need to discover for yourselves.

Leave a Reply

