Review: Revived by Cat Patrick

Revived Cat Patrick

I want to start this review on a positive note by saying that Cat Patrick comes up with some incredible, completely original ideas that are interesting and gripping to read about. Which is why after reading ‘Forgotten’, I decided to give ‘Revived’ a try. I may have hated London and Luke’s relationship but the overall story was still pretty amazing. I was certain ‘Revived’ would be the same. And I was right. Kind of.

This story is about Daisy West, a girl who has died five times and each time has been revived and with each revival comes a new name, a new town and a completely new life. The book starts with her dying and being relocated to a new town. A promising start and I soon got sucked into the story.

Sam Winchester gif

I guess I should’ve known from the blurb what was coming next – “This time I won’t let myself die. This time, I’ve found a love that I can’t let go. This time, I’m going to make my life my own.” Now after reading a grand total of two books written by Cat Patrick I have come to my own conclusion that while her books are fantastically thought out with a decent plot and original ideas, I cannot stand the way she writes romance.

After cringing through ‘Forgotten’ over London and Luke’s relationship, I was then slapped in the face with Daisy and Matt’s awful romance. The whole thing feels really out of place and unnecessary. The two meet because Daisy becomes friends with a girl in her school named Audrey. When Daisy goes back to Audrey’s house, she’s introduced to her brother Matt. Suddenly a relationship blossoms, of course. Considering everything else that is going on in their lives, it seems a bit pointless and completely fake. After not knowing each other for very long, the two of them are suddenly very dependent on each other and it gets increasingly annoying to read about.

Sansa Stark Gif

Pushing the entire romance aside, we are just about left with the original plot which is interesting and gripping from the beginning. I also really liked Megan, Daisy’s transgender friend from childhood and another member of the revival program. Audrey was also another favourite character and I really enjoyed reading about her. If it weren’t for Matt, I think this would have been one of my favourite books.

This is the kind of book I would recommend to someone but with a warning. However, my friend did ship London and Luke in ‘Forgotten’ so maybe it’s just my weird hatred for romance novels. It’s not the sort of book I would read again but it is a book that I think about quite often. There is one part that will make you sob but that is all I can say!

Leave a Reply

