Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay Gayle Forman

Me and my friend decided to go to the cinema to watch ‘The Fault in our Stars’ – I wanted to get out of the house to avoid my step-dad because my Mum was away for a couple of days and my friend loves watching movies. Now everyone knows the best part of any trip to the cinema is watching the trailers for other films. That was how I found out about ‘if I stay’. The film trailer starring Chloe Grace Moretz. I’m kind of a massive Chloe fan and when I spotted the book in WHSmith, I remembered the trailer and decided to give it a read. I’m so glad I did.

The story follows Mia’s point of a view, a girl who got into a terrible car accident with her family and wakes up out of her body and soon becomes faced with a difficult choice; should she leave or should she stay? The story switches between present and past throughout but this doesn’t get confusing and makes for a much more interesting read.

First of all, I love Mia’s character. She’s realistic, likeable and genuine. Saying that though, she’s the kind of girl you love to read about but if you knew here in person, you’d probably find her a tiny bit annoying. Then there’s her relationship with her boyfriend Adam – again with the romance – but this isn’t the ridiculous “oh I’ve known you for two seconds and I’m in love with you” kind of romance. It’s the kind of romance that doesn’t make you roll your eyes every time they talk to each other, even if there is the cliché ‘you’re a shy girl and I’m an outgoing guy, stop hiding yourself from other people, I can teach you so much’ thing going on.

Oh please gif

Also, as much as I loved the book in general, the ‘play me like your cello’ scene was really weird and creepy. Definitely not something I enjoyed.

This book is intended to be emotional and I guess it could be but it didn’t hit me as hard as I’d have liked it to. This could be because I accidentally read a spoiler (again, goddammit) and ruined what is probably the most emotional part but either way, I still don’t think it had the impact it wanted to create. Or maybe I’m just an emotionless bitch.

Arya Stark gif

I’m glad the book was written the way it was (switching between past and present) because if we had all her past memories and then the car crash, it wouldn’t have had the same impact. It’s harder to read about her past experiences knowing what’s happened to her in the future. Knowing that everything she knows now will soon change uncontrollably. That’s probably my favourite thing about ‘If I Stay’, and probably what upset me the most.

I would recommend this book to someone who likes moving stories with a hint of romance and a slight ‘chick flick’ vibe. It was a good book, but it wasn’t absolutely amazing. I’m really looking forward to seeing the film though!

Leave a Reply

